The AIBA World Boxing Championships

  • boxersboxers

Event Category: All Events and Sport Events

Related Listing
  • The AIBA World Boxing Championships and the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships are biennial amateur boxing competitions organised by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), which is the sport governing body. Alongside the Olympic boxing programme, it is the highest level of competition for the sport. The championships was first held in 1974 Havana, Cuba as a men’s only event and the first women’s championships was held over 25 years later in 2001. Formerly known as the World Amateur Boxing Championships and the Women’s World Amateur Boxing Championships, the men’s and women’s competitions are held separately and since 2006 the biennial championships have been held in alternating years.

    The number of weight categories was reduced from twelve to eleven in 2003 with the removal of the light middleweight division (−71 kg). In 2011 the weight categories went down to ten with the removal of the featherweight division (−57 kg)

    The 2017 AIBA World Boxing Championships 2017 will take place at Sporthalle Hamburg from 25 August to 2 September.

    World Champions in ten weight categories will be determined among the 280 boxers from more than 80 nations. Around 50% of the champions and medal winners of the Olympic Games 2016 will participate. This outstanding competition guarantees great sport performances in amateur boxing at a world‐class level!

  • Leave a Review